Temple Emanuel was founded in Paterson, N.J. in 1906. Due to changing demographics, the congregation left their iconic 1929 art deco synagogue built by Jacob Fabian the theatre mogul. The beautiful structure and stained glass windows were designed during the Depression by Frederick W. Wentworth. The congregation relocated to a former Dutch reformed church in Franklin Lakes, N.J. The Ives Architectural Studio was asked to relocate their magnificent stained glass windows in an addition and renovation to the synagogue. The project not only provides for additional functions within the building, such as a new entry, a new social hall and a large entry vestibule, but would provide a dramatic and inspirational worship space that links the congregation to its past history.